444353_heroaThe 10-man shortlist has been reduced to three, meaning Bayern Munich’s star winger and their World Cup-winning goalkeeper will battle with the Ballon d’Or holder

Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and Cristiano Ronaldo have been named as the final three nominees for the Uefa Best Player in Europe award.

The trio were named as part of an initial 10-man shortlist announced in July, which included Angel Di Maria, Diego Costa, Luis Suarez, Lionel Messi, Philipp Lahm, James Rodriguez and Thomas Muller.

Current Ballon d’Or holder Ronaldo has now been voted into the final three, along with Bayern Munich’s star winger Robben and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, who added the World Cup to his Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal successes last season.

More to follow