Full list of winners: 2016 Ghana Music Awards

By on

ELLThe biggest night in Ghana Music came off live with the following people crowned in the various categories. Winners are in bold with ‘WINNER’ beside their names;

Artiste Of The Year



Bisa KDei


SP Kofi Sarpong


Vodafone Most Popular Song Of The Year

Skolom – VVIP featuring Sena Dagadu

Mansa – Bisa Kdei – WINNER

Aporsor – Nicholas Omane Acheampong

Go Higher – Stonebowy

Ekikime – Wisa featuring Luther

Mi naa bop o – EL

Susuka – Kofi Kinaata

Album Of The Year

Verified – MzVee

Mary – Sarkodie

Elom – EL

Breakthrough – Bisa KDei – WINNER

I Believe – SP Kofir Sarpong

Highlife Artiste Of The Year

Bisa Kdei – WINNER


Ofori Amponsah

Nero X

Afro-pop Song Of The Year

Fuse ODG – Only

R2bees – Gboza featuring Davido

Edem – Nyedzilo featuring Reekado Banks

MzVee – Abofra featuring Efya

Adina – Coastal Vibes featuring Trigmatic

E.L – Mi Naa Bo Po  – WINNER

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste Of The Year

Stonebwoy – WINNER



AK Songstress


Blakk Rasta

Hip-life/Hip-Hop Artiste Of The Year

Pappy Kojo

Omar Sterling





Best Collaboration Of The Year

VVIP – Skolom featuring Sena Dagadu – WINNER

Sarkodie – Mewu featuring Akwaboah

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late featuring Sarkodie

Wisa – Ekikime featuring Luther

Donzy – The Crusade featuring Kofi Kinaata

Obrafour – Pimpinaa featuring Bisa Kdei

Record Of The Year

Adina – Coastal Vibes featuring Trigmatic

MzVee – Abofra featuring Efya

R2bees – Concert Party

Sarkodie – Bra featuring Pat Thomas WINNER

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Rocky Dawuni – Shine Light

M.anifest – Forget Dem

Hip-life Song Of The Year

Donzy – The Crusade featuring Kofi Kinaata

Atom – Ye Wo Krom – WINNER

E.L – Koko

Wisa – Ekiki Me featuring Luther

VVIP – Skolom featuring Sena Dagadu

Guru – Pooley Swag

Highlife Song Of The Year

Aka Blay – Take Away featuring Cabum

Becca – Hwe

Bisa Kdei – Mansa – WINNER

Obrafour – Pimpinaa featuring Bisa Kdei

R2Bees – Makoma

Kofi Kinaata – Susuka

Ofori Amponsah – Alewa featuring Sarkodie

Reggae/Dancehall Song Of The Year

Blakk Rasta – Serwaa Akoto

De Voice – It’s So Crazy

MzVee – Hold Me Now

Stonebwoy – Go Higher – WINNER

AK Songstress – Holiday

Jupitar – Fire featuring Stonebwoy

Best Male Vocalist

Afriyie – Go Gaga

De Voice – It’s Crazy

Knii Lante – Thinking Out Loud

Pat Thomas – Bra (by Sarkodie) – WINNER

Mugeez – Concert Party (With Omar Sterling)

Akwaboah Jnr. – Mewu (by Sarkodie)

Best Female Vocalist

Adina – Boom Boom Beat

Irene Logan – Me Do Wo

MzVee – Hold Me Now – WINNER

Nana Yaa – E Go Be

Efya – SarkCess Story

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Hip-Hop Song Of The Year

E.L – All Black feat. Joey B & Pappy Kojo

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Them

Kwaw Kese – Yakubu

Omar Sterling – Ninety Ninety

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late feat. Sarkodie

Sarkodie – Hand to Mouth – WINNER

Best Rapper Of The Year

E.L – King Without A Crown

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem

Omar Sterling – Nineteen Ninety

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late

Sarkodie – Hand To Mouth – WINNER

Best Music Video Of The Year

E.L – Shelele – WINNER

Obrafour – Nkontompo

Yaa Yaa – Dumb Drum

Edem – Girlfriend

Teephlow – The Warning

Preachers – Crazy For God

Best Group Of The Year






Producer Of The Year

Mo Beat – Skolom

Bisa Kdei/Kaywa – Mansa

Kwadwo Akwaboah – Aporsor

Beatz Dakay – Go Higher

Chapter Beatz – Ekikime

E.L – Mi Naa Bo Po – WINNER

Dr. Ray – Ye Wo Krom

Kin Dee – Susuka

Best New Artiste Of The Year

Nero X

Kofi Kinaata – WINNER




Unsung Artiste

Nii Funny

Wan O

Feli Nuna


Adomaa – WINNER

Ebony Reigns

Gospel Song Of The Year

SP Kofi Sarpong – Hour By Hour featuring Joyce Blessing

Kofi Gyan – Yoboyo

Mary Owusu – W’ow Nkwa Wo Wor Ade

Obaapa Christy – Hyebre Sesafo

Patience Nyarko – Wafom Kwan

Nicholas Omane Acheapong – WINNER

Gospel Artiste Of The Year

Obaapa Christy

Nicholas Omane Achemapong

Joe Mettle

SP Kofi Sarpong – WINNER

Patience Nyarko


Songwriter Of The Year

Rex Omar – Paapa

Knii Lante – Beautiful Virgo

Kofi Kinaata – Susuka – WINNER

MzVee, Richie & Efya – Abofra

Obrafour – Nkontompo

Stonebwoy – Go Higher

African Artiste Of The Year


Wizkid -WINNER

Korede Bello


Traditional Music Group

Testa Music group – WINNER

Traditional Instrumentalist of The Year

Justice williams – WINNER

Best Music For Development Award

Gasmilla – WINNER

Sound Engineer of the year

Kaywa – WINNER

Lifetime Achievement Award

AB Crentsil – WINNER


www.233times.com News Desk report

ABOUT: Nana Kwesi Coomson

[email protected]

A Freelance Journalist, Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Editor-in-Chief of www.233times.com. A contributory writer for Ghanaian Chronicle Newspaper. An alumnus of Adisadel College where he read General Arts. He holds first degree in Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ghana; Political Science (major) and History (minor). He has also pursued MSc Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Energy with Public Relations (PR) at the Robert Gordon University in the United Kingdom. He is a 2018 Mandela Washington Fellow (YALI) who studied at Clark Atlanta University on the Business and Entrepreneurship track. His mentors are Rupert Murdoch, Warren Buffet, Sam Jonah, Kwaku Sakyi Addo and Piers Morgan

view all posts by: Nana Kwesi Coomson  


233times.com is a Ghanaian media house which serves as a major source of exclusive interviews ,music and video downloads, news and more.

233times.com reports on major events,news covering entertainment, politics, sports, etc from within Ghana, Africa and beyond.

We have a platform for the amateur artistes to portray their staggering talents ...more...


facebook twitter youtube google plus linkedIn

To advertise with us or make enquiries, please visit 233times.com/advertise or call +233249455142 (Selorm), +233248185848 (Nana Kwesi)