108 candidates vie for 26 seats in Western Region

By on


One hundred and eight (108) parliamentary candidates from eight political parties are contesting for the 26 seats in the Western Region in today’s parliamentary election. Out of the number, 100 are males and eight females.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) top the list as they filed candidates in all the 26 constituencies.

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) follows with 20; the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), 19; the National Democratic Party (NDP), 3; the People’s National Convention (PNC), 2; United Front Party (UFP), 2; the Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP), 1; All People’s Party (APC), 1 and seven (7) independent candidates.

In the Shama Constituency, four aspirants are battling it out for one of them to become the legislator for the area. They are the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Kwodwo Essilfie, 66, of the NDC, Ato Panford of the NPP, Joseph Essuman, the PPP and Samuel Diaw Manful, CPP.

At Essikado-Ketan, the sitting MP, Joe Ghartey of the NPP, is being challenged by Joseph Kofi Mensah of the NDC, Charles Arhizi of the CPP, Frank Sagoe, All People’s Congress (APC) and Kweku Pianim, an independent candidate.

The Takoradi seat, which the NPP had occupied for the past 16 years, has the incumbent MP, Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah of the NPP, Alfred Ekow Gyan, NDC and Isaac Collins Mensah, PPP, in the race.

The Sekondi Constituency has four parliamentary aspirants namely, Andrew Mercer representing the NPP; Emmanuel Asafuah, NDC; Daniel Essuman, PPP and Peter Arthur of the CPP.

Wassa East: Isaac Adjei-Mensah for the NDC; Wilson Arthur, NPP who is also the Chief Executive Officer for Skyy Power FM and Television in Takoradi and Samuel Gidi, PPP.

The Mpohor: Three candidates, including Alex Kofi Agyekum, NPP; Eric Kweku Kyeremeh, NDC and Joseph Benedict Aubynn, PPP are constesting for the seat.

Joseph Mensah of the NPP; Augustine Arthur of the NDC; Samuel Kwabena Antwi, PPP; Nana Abakah, CPP and Richard Kwame Amissah, an independent candidate, are vying for the Kwesimintsim seat.

Effia Constituency which was carved from Effia-Kwesimintsim, has four candidates who are incumbent Joseph Cudjoe, NPP; Michael Otoo, NDC and Isaac Baidoo, CPP.

Three contestants are in the race for the Ahanta West seat. They include Ebenezer Kojo, NPP; George Kwame Aboagye, NDC and Isaac Annan of the CPP.

In Evalue-Ajomoro-Gwira, the contestants are Catherine Abelema Afeku, NPP; Kweku Tanikyi Kesse, NDC; Prince Fokuo, PPP and John Cobbinah, United Front Party (UFP).

As many as seven candidates are vying for the Jomoro parliamentary seat. They include Paul Essien, NPP; Thomas Yankey, NDC; Matthew Kwao, PPP; Samia Nkrumah, CPP; Jemima Soboe, PNC; Stephen Awuah, UFP and Leo Armah Amenlemah, an independent candidate.

In the Ellembelle Constituency, the sitting MP, Emmanuel Armah Kofi-Buah, is representing the NDC; Kwasi Bonzo , NPP; Joseph Kwaw, NDP; Ebenezer Somiah-Addae, CPP and Mathias Bozo Ewereko, an independent candidate, are eyeing the seat.

Sefwi-Wiawso Constituency: the Western Regional Minister and sitting MP, Paul Evans Aidoo, is facing fierce competition from the former Health Minister under Kufuor’s NPP administration, Dr. Kweku Afriyie; Prince Akomea, GCPP; Sebastian Webster Kwesi, PPP and Baafi Kwami Fairfax, the CPP.

From Emmanuel Opoku, Takoradi

ABOUT: Nana Kwesi Coomson

[email protected]

A Freelance Journalist, Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Editor-in-Chief of www.233times.com. A contributory writer for Ghanaian Chronicle Newspaper. An alumnus of Adisadel College where he read General Arts. He holds first degree in Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ghana; Political Science (major) and History (minor). He has also pursued MSc Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Energy with Public Relations (PR) at the Robert Gordon University in the United Kingdom. He is a 2018 Mandela Washington Fellow (YALI) who studied at Clark Atlanta University on the Business and Entrepreneurship track. His mentors are Rupert Murdoch, Warren Buffet, Sam Jonah, Kwaku Sakyi Addo and Piers Morgan

view all posts by: Nana Kwesi Coomson  


233times.com is a Ghanaian media house which serves as a major source of exclusive interviews ,music and video downloads, news and more.

233times.com reports on major events,news covering entertainment, politics, sports, etc from within Ghana, Africa and beyond.

We have a platform for the amateur artistes to portray their staggering talents ...more...


facebook twitter youtube google plus linkedIn

To advertise with us or make enquiries, please visit 233times.com/advertise or call +233249455142 (Selorm), +233248185848 (Nana Kwesi)