Speaker announces vetting committee

By on

8585140263972_2969322611525With the smooth constitution of the Appointments Committee of the Seventh Parliament, the Speaker of Parliament, Prof Mike Oquaye, yesterday referred nominees for ministerial positions for vetting (by the Committee) which was communicated to him by President Nana Akufo-Addo.

The MP for Manhyia South, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, who was tipped to handle the Health Ministry, has been nominated as the minister-designate for Education while the NPP MP for Dormaa Central, Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, has been nominated as the minister-designate for Health.

The ministers-designate will soon appear before the Appointments Committee whose composition is made up of 16 majority and 10 minority members.

The chairman of the Appointments Committee would be Joseph Osei-Owusu who is the first deputy speaker, while the vice chairman is Sarah Adwoa Safo (deputy majority leader). The rest are Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh (NPP MP for Sunyani East), Dominic Nitiwul (NPP MP for Bimbilla), Samuel Atta Akyea (NPP MP for Abuakwa South), Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh (NPP MP for Manhyia South), Daniel Nii Titus Glover (NPP MP for Tema East), Ursula Owusu-Ekuful (NPP MP for Ablekuma West), Joseph Kofi Adda (NPP MP for Navrongo Central), Joseph Cudjoe (NPP MP for Efia), Patricia Appiagyei (NPP MP for Asokwa), Osei Bonsu Mensah (NPP MP for Akwapim South), Kofi Amoakohene (NPP MP for Atetebu/Amantin), Anthony N-yoh  Puowele Karbo (NPP MP for Lawra), Babara Asher Ayisi (NPP MP for Cape Coast North) and Michael Gyato (NPP MP for Krachi East).

On the minority side are the minority leader, Haruna Iddrisu (who is  the ranking member), Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka (deputy ranking member), Mahama Ayariga (NDC MP for Bawku Central), Sampson Ahi (NDC MP for Bodi), Eric Opoku (NDC MP for Asunafo South), Dr Bernice Adiku Heloo (NDC MP for Hohoe), Joseph Yieleh Chireh (NDC MP for Wa West), Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye (NDC MP for Odododiodioo), Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (NDC MP for North Tongu) and Alhassan Suhuyini (NDC MP for Tamale North).

DAILY GUIDE has learnt that the second batch of the ministerial nominees would be presented to the speaker today by President Akufo-Addo for announcement and referral to the Appointments Committee. The first batch was named yesterday.

By Thomas Fosu Jnr

ABOUT: Nana Kwesi Coomson

[email protected]

A Freelance Journalist, Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Editor-in-Chief of www.233times.com. A contributory writer for Ghanaian Chronicle Newspaper. An alumnus of Adisadel College where he read General Arts. He holds first degree in Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ghana; Political Science (major) and History (minor). He has also pursued MSc Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Energy with Public Relations (PR) at the Robert Gordon University in the United Kingdom. His mentors are Rupert Murdoch, Warren Buffet, Sam Jonah, Kwaku Sakyi Addo and Piers Morgan

view all posts by: Nana Kwesi Coomson  


233times.com is a Ghanaian media house which serves as a major source of exclusive interviews ,music and video downloads, news and more.

233times.com reports on major events,news covering entertainment, politics, sports, etc from within Ghana, Africa and beyond.

We have a platform for the amateur artistes to portray their staggering talents ...more...


facebook twitter youtube google plus linkedIn

To advertise with us or make enquiries, please visit 233times.com/advertise or call +233249455142 (Selorm), +233248185848 (Nana Kwesi)