Osafo Maafo, Freddie Blay, 38 others sue gov’t

By on
Osafo-Marfo-610x400-1Forty former Members of Parliament (MPs) have sued the government for GH?233,495 each, being their accrued monthly pension pay since January 2009. 

The amount being claimed works out to GH?13,735 per person per month, but interest accrued during the 85 months  raises the amount to GH?233,495 each.

With the suit filed at the Labour Division of the Accra High Court, the 40 former MPs are collectively demanding GH¢9,339,800 from the government.

The basis of the legal action by the 40 former MPs is the Chinnery-Hesse Presidential Emoluments Committee (PEC) which provides that parliamentarians who were 50 years and above and exited Parliament, having served two full terms, should be paid some sums of money as pension benefits.

Some notable names among the 40 former MPs who initiated the legal action are Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Dr Kwame Ampofo, Mr Kwamina Bartels, Mr Freddie  Blay, Mr Kenneth Dzirasah, Ms Christine Churcher, Mr Isaac E. Edumadze and Mr Nkrabea Effah-Darteh.

Joined to the suit as defendants are the Attorney-General (A-G) and the Minister of Finance.


The plaintiffs, in their statement of claim, averred that since 2011 they had been negotiating with the government, through the Ministry of Finance and the leadership of Parliament, for aspects of the Chinnery-Hesse Committee report in relation to their pensions to be paid, but the negotiations, they claimed, had proved futile.

Several attempts, demands or requests made on the government to have these pension benefits paid to the plaintiffs have proved futile,” they said.

According to the plaintiffs, based on a letter dated June 25, 2015, the A-G directed the Ministry of Finance to make payments to them but the ministry had “refused, neglected or failed to pay the said money to the plaintiffs”.

The action of the ministry, the former MPs added, continued to cause them distress, as most of them remained unemployed because of old age and were, therefore, unable to sustain their families.

They said being advanced in years had also come with various medical conditions, the management of which required daily doses of expensive medication.

The former MPs said on November 24, 2015, a notice to institute civil action was served on the state, but the A-G, apart from a letter dated December 22, 2015 which acknowledged its receipt of the suit, had failed to respond.

The disgruntled former legislators claimed that the conduct of the government showed that unless compelled by the courts, it was not ready to pay the pensions duly owed them.

Find below the list of former MPs

1. David Apasera

2. Dr. Charles Brempong-Yeboah

3. Francis Aggrey Agbotese

4. Nii Adu Daku Mante

5. Kwame Adusa Okerchiri

6. Godfred Otchere

7. Moses Dani Baah

8. K. Brandford Adu

9. Victor Okuley Nortey

10. Yaw Barimah

11. Kwadwo Darko Adjei

12. Samuel Gyamfi Adu

13. Joseph Tsatsu Agbenu

14. Eugene Atta Agyapong

15. Abraham Osei Aidoo

16. Dr. Kwame Ampofo

17. Dr. Matthew Kwaku Antwi

18. Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku

19. Yaw Mensah Asiedu

20. Angela Baiden-Amissah

21. Kwamena Bartels

22. Freddie W.A. Blay

23. Sampson Boafo

24. Chrisitine Churcher

25. Kenneth Dzirasah

26. Isaac E. Edumadze

27. Nkrabea Effah Dartey

28. Kwame Owusu Frimpong

29. Kitson Akomeng Kissi

30. Joseph Henry Mensah

31. Mrs Anna Nyamakye

32. Albert Kwaku Obbin

33. Yaw Osafo-Maafo

34. Francis Mensah Osafo

35. Akwasi Adjei Osei

36. K. Owusu Adjapong

37. K. Opoku Adusei

38. Quarm Sam

39. Alex Sofo Seidu

40. Alhassa Malik Yakubu


ABOUT: Nana Kwesi Coomson

[email protected]

An Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Editor-in-Chief of www.233times.com. A Senior Journalist with Ghanaian Chronicle Newspaper. An alumnus of Adisadel College where he read General Arts. He holds first degree in Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ghana; Political Science (major) and History (minor). He has also pursued MSc Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Energy with Public Relations (PR) at the Robert Gordon University in the United Kingdom. He is a 2018 Mandela Washington Fellow (YALI) who studied at Clark Atlanta University on the Business and Entrepreneurship track. His mentors are Rupert Murdoch, Warren Buffet, Sam Jonah, Kwaku Sakyi Addo and Piers Morgan

view all posts by: Nana Kwesi Coomson  


233times.com is a Ghanaian media house which serves as a major source of exclusive interviews ,music and video downloads, news and more.

233times.com reports on major events,news covering entertainment, politics, sports, etc from within Ghana, Africa and beyond.

We have a platform for the amateur artistes to portray their staggering talents ...more...


facebook twitter youtube google plus linkedIn

To advertise with us or make enquiries, please visit 233times.com/advertise or call +233266121799 (Selorm), +233248185848 (Nana Kwesi)