Gov’t creates 38 new districts

By on

The Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, yesterday laid in parliament a Legislative Instruments (LI) for the creation of 38 Metropolitan, Municipal and District assemblies (MMDAs).

The proposed new districts, when given effect by parliament, will bring the total number in the country to 254.

The new districts will also be preparing the way for the government to create at least four new regions for which over GH¢900 million has been budgeted in next year’s budget.

More municipal assemblies have been created out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly.

They are Ayawaso East, Ayawaso North, Ayawaso West, Ablekuma North, Ablekuma West and Okaikwei.

Weija was created from the Ga South Municipal Assembly and Krowor Municipal Assembly carved out of Ledzokuku while in Kumasi, the Oforikrom, Asokwa, Suame, Old Tafo and Kwadaso Municipal Assemblies were created out of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assemblies.

In Tema, Tema West Municipal Assembly was carved out of the Tema Metropolitan Assembly

The Asante Akim South District in the Ashanti Region was elevated to the status of municipal assembly, while the Kwabre East and Ahafo Ano North Districts in the same region were also elevated to municipal status.

New districts such as Ahafo Ano South-West, Ahafo Ano South-East, Amansie South, Amansie West, Atwima Nwabiagya North, Adansi South, Adansi North, Adansi Asokwa and Akrofuom have been created in the Ashanti Region

In the Volta Region, Ketu North Municipal Assembly and |Krachi East District Assembly were created while Nkwanta District was elevated to a municipal status.

In the Western Region, the following districts have been elevated to municipal status, Prestea/Huni-Valley, Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai, Jomoro, Aowin and Wassa Amenfi West, Wassa Amenfi East and Ahanta West.

Atebubu Amantin district in the Brong Ahafo Region has also been given a municipal status.

In the Eastern region, New Juaben North Municipal has been created out of New Juaben, making New Juaben South autonomous municipal assembly.

The East Akim Municipal Assembly has been split into Abuakwa South Municipal and Abuakwa North Municipal.

In the Northern Region, Nanton District has been created out of the Savelugu Municipal Assembly.

The government has created the 38 new districts to bring governance closer to the doorsteps of citizens.

The minister said the creation of the new districts does not necessarily mean that new constituencies would be created, adding that if there was the need to create new constituencies it would be determined by the Electoral Commission (EC).

She said the creation of the new districts is to speed development and also bring development to the doorstep of the people.

“We have some districts that the president has elevated into municipalities and those are not new but just elevation,” Hajia Mahama said.

“We have created 38 new districts. We have settled on the capitals. If there are agitations we’ll look at them,” the minister assured.

List Of Districts

The breakdown of the assemblies is: Ashanti Region: Ahafo Ano South-West District Assembly, Ahafo Ano South-East District Assembly, Amansie South District Assembly, Amansie West District Assembly, Atwima Nwabiagya North District Assembly, Adansi South District Assembly, Akrofruom District Assembly, Adansi North District Assembly, Adansi Asokwa District Assembly, Obuasi East District Assembly, Afigya Kwabre South District Assembly and Afigya Kwabre North District Assembly.

Brong Ahafo: Pru West District Assembly, Pru East District Assembly and Berekum West District Assembly.

In the Central Region: the districts are Assin North District Assembly, Gomoa Central District Assembly and Gomoa East District Assembly.

Eastern Region: Asene Manso District Assembly, Okere District Assembly, Atiwa West District Assembly, Atiwa East District Assembly, Fanteakwa South District Assembly and Fanteakwa North District Assembly.

Northern Region: Nanton District Assembly, Bunkpurugu District Assembly and Yunyoo District Assembly.

Upper East: Bolga East District Assembly, Garu District Assembly and Tempane District Assembly.


By Thomas Fosu Jnr

ABOUT: Nana Kwesi Coomson

[email protected]

A Freelance Journalist, Entrepreneur and Philanthropist. Editor-in-Chief of A contributory writer for Ghanaian Chronicle Newspaper. An alumnus of Adisadel College where he read General Arts. He holds first degree in Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ghana; Political Science (major) and History (minor). He has also pursued MSc Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Energy with Public Relations (PR) at the Robert Gordon University in the United Kingdom. He is a 2018 Mandela Washington Fellow (YALI) who studied at Clark Atlanta University on the Business and Entrepreneurship track. His mentors are Rupert Murdoch, Warren Buffet, Sam Jonah, Kwaku Sakyi Addo and Piers Morgan

view all posts by: Nana Kwesi Coomson  

ABOUT 233TIMES is a Ghanaian media house which serves as a major source of exclusive interviews ,music and video downloads, news and more. reports on major events,news covering entertainment, politics, sports, etc from within Ghana, Africa and beyond.

We have a platform for the amateur artistes to portray their staggering talents ...more...


facebook twitter youtube google plus linkedIn

To advertise with us or make enquiries, please visit or call +233249455142 (Selorm), +233248185848 (Nana Kwesi)